Key opposition leaders skips PM Modi’s All-party meet

Several opposition parties, including Congress, TMC, DMK, TDP, BSP and AAP kept away from the all-party meeting held by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, this evening on `One Nation, One Election’.  Congress has said that they will not participate in the meeting.

Among other senior leaders not attending is Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal. AAP leader Raghav Chadha will represent the party. DMK President M K Stalin, Trinamool chief Mamata Banerjee and Telugu Desam Party chief N Chandrababu Naidu will also not attend the meeting.

Telangaan Chief Minister K Chandrasekahr Rao also not attended the meeting. He deputed his son and working president of TRS, K T Rama Rao. The Left parties will reportedly oppose PM Modi’s idea of one nation, one election, saying that it increases the scope for Central intervention.

Trinamool chief Banerjee, in a letter to Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi, sought a white paper from the Government, especially if it wanted “concrete suggestions”. She also claimed the parties were given too little time to respond.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App