4 of TDP’s Rajya Sabha MPs merged with BJP 

In a major setback for TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu, four of its Rajya Sabha members have switched over to the BJP, today. TDP Rajya Sabha MPs YS Chowdary, TG Venkatesh, and CM Ramesh submitted their resignation letter to M Venkaiah Naidu, who is also Vice-President and Rajya Sabha chairman, in Delhi.

The four MPs passed a resolution to merge Legislature Party of TDP with BJP. “Inspired and encouraged by the impeccable leadership of Narendra Modiji and the devleopment policies being pursued by him in the overall interest of the nation, we have decided to merge with the BJP with immediate effect,” read the resolution.

Later, they merged the party with BJP at BJP headquarters, in the presence of BJP working president JP Nadda. Reacting to the resignations, TDP president Chandrababu Naidu said, “We fought with BJP only for special category status and state’s interests. We sacrificed central ministers for special status, condemn attempts of BJP to weaken TDP. The crisis is not new to the party. Leaders and cadre have nothing to be nervous about.”

 The TDP has six members in the Rajya Sabha. The four of them breaking away meets the legal requirement of anti-defection law, which mandates the support of at least two-third members for a split to be recognised in Parliament.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App