Except Left, all parties supports `One Nation, One Election’ move

Probably except two left parties, besides AIMIM, almost all parties who attended the all-party meet convened by Prime Minsiter Narendra Modi, last evening, have supported the move for `One Nation, One Election’.

It was decided that the Prime Minister will set up a committee to examine the suggestion on the proposal of `One Nation, One Election’,   which occupied a place of significance in the meeting. The meeting led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi was held to discuss several issues, and prominently ‘one nation, one election’ for which eight key opposition parties opted out of.

Besides the BJP, those who attended the meeting included Akali Dal’s Sukhbir Singh Badal, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Janata Dal-United leader Nitish Kumar, BJD President Naveen Patnaik, YSR Congress Party chief Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, CPI’s D. Raja and S. Sudhakar Reddy, CPI-M’s Sitaram Yechuri, TRS President K.T. Rama Rao, National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah and Peoples Democratic Party leader Mehbooba Mufti.

Those who gave the meeting a skip included the Congress, Aam Aadmi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Samajwadi Party, DMK, Trinamool Congress, Telugu Desam Party and Rashtriya Janata Dal.

The Prime Minister called the meeting to discuss his initiative of holding simultaneous elections across the country and the Niti Aayog’s proposal to fast-track the socio-economic conditions of 117 districts across 28 states. The government had invited the chiefs of all parties represented in Parliament for the meeting.

Speaking to the media after the meeting concluded, Defence minister Rajanth Singh remarked, “Most parties gave their support to ‘One Nation, One Election‘, CPI(M) and CPI had a difference of opinion but they didn’t oppose the idea, just the implementation of it.”

He added, “Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in his address, said that a committee will be constituted to give its suggestions on the subject (One Nation, One Election) in a time-bound manner.”  One of the affirmative voices came from Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen Patnaik, who on Wednesday said, “Our party is supporting the idea of One Nation, One Election.”

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App