All Congress ministers resign to save collation govt.

All the  21 Congress ministers in HD Kumaraswamy’s government today sent in their resignation as part of a last-ditch effort to keep the Congress-Janata Dal Secular coalition government afloat. The ministers have sent their resignations to the Karnataka Congress chief Dinesh Gundu Rao.

A Congress leader said the Congress ministers had offered to step down to make space for the dozen-odd rebel legislators who are seen to be playing hardball and quit from the state assembly.

With this, the Congress has made an open offer to 13 disgruntled MLAs who had tendered their resignations and have been staying in a Mumbai hotel. “All 21 Karnataka Congress ministers have resigned voluntarily,” senior party leader and former CM Siddaramaiah informed reporters in Bengaluru.

The decision of Congress ministers to resign came after Independent MLA-turned-Minister H Nagesh withdrew his support to the HD Kumaraswamy government bringing its total tally to 105, level with the BJP.  “I’ve already withdrawn my support to govt headed by HD Kumaraswamy. I would further by this letter unequivocally state I would extend my support to the Govt of BJP if called for by your good self,” Nagesh said in his resignation letter, earlier today. .

Twelve legislators – nine of them from the Congress and three from JDS – had resigned from the state assembly on Saturday. They cited different reasons for their decision but there is a view in the Congress that it might be possible to persuade them to change their mind if the party had something to offer. A ministerial berth was the consensus.

The plan was firmed up at a breakfast meeting convened by Karnataka deputy chief minister G Parameshwara.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App