5 more Karnataka rebel MLAs move SC

Five more Karnataka Congress MLAs moved the Supreme Court, today, contending they had resigned “voluntarily” and that their resignation must be accepted by the Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar.

The petition, filed by Anand Singh, K Sudhakar, N Nagaraju, Munirathna and Roshan Baig of the Congress party, has sought a direction to the Speaker to not proceed with the application for their disqualification.

The legislators also claimed that there was no disqualification proceeding against them when they resigned.

“The disqualification proceedings are being used to threaten and intimidate the MLAs. On one hand, the Speaker is not acting upon the resignation and on the other, a whip has been issued threatening disqualification for failure to attend the legislature proceeding starting July 12,” the petition stated.

The rebel MLAs said that when some of the applicants submitted their resignation on July 10, they were manhandled in the Assembly and were confined. “They were rescued by the police personnel from the Legislative Assembly,” the plea said.

The plea also submitted that their resignations were in “accordance with Rule 202 of the Rules of Procedure and the Conduct of Business of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.”

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App