Congress-JD(S) Govt. collapses as Kumaraswamy loses trust vote

The JD(S)-Congress  government in Karnataka collapsed, today,  following the trust vote proceedings after failing to prove majority in the state assembly. After counting the votes, the speaker confirmed that the coalition is in minority. A total of 99 MLAs supported the incumbent government and 105 MLAs voted against it.

HD Kumaraswamy, who led the ruling Congress-Janata Dal Secular government for nearly 14 months, as Karnataka chief minister lost the confidence motion that he had moved after 16 lawmakers from the ruling coalition resigned this month.

An emotional Kumaraswamy said he had been running a government that was speculated to collapse right from the point that it was formed. He also alluded to an opposition-driven social media campaign that targeted him for staying at a luxury five-star hotel.

Already unstable since its inception, the coalition was hit by a string of defections ever since the state voted for the BJP in the Lok Sabha elections. This trust vote was a culmination of a long-drawn out drama in the state assembly which saw a four day long discussion over the trust vote spearheaded by the Congress-JD(S) MLAs.

Karnataka BJP chief BS Yeddyurappa was all smiles after the trust vote and flashed the victory sign. “It’s a victory of democracy. People were fed up with HD Kumaraswamy government. We assure people of Karnataka that a new era of development is starting,” he said.

The BJP Legislature Party is meeting tomorrow, so that to seek claim to form the next government. After defeat in trust vote, Kumaraswamy left to Raj Bhavan by foot to submit his resignaiton. 

The high-pitched 2018 state elections in Karnataka had delivered a fractured verdict with the BJP emerging as the largest party with 105 seats. The JD(S) and Congress, in a bid to stay in power had formed an alliance despite vociferously fighting the polls against each other. The unpopular coalition had been called out by citizens and leaders repeatedly but had managed to stay in power for just over an year under Kumaraswamy.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App