After Karnataka, Congress left with govts in 4 states, 1 Union Territory

As its alliance government in Karnataka fell last evening, the Congress lost power in another state with the party now left with governments in just four states and a Union territory. Karnataka was crucial for the party as it was the only southern state in which the Congress was in power.

With the Congress suffering a crushing defeat in the Lok Sabha polls, bagging just 52 seats across India, the party has been pinning its hopes on south India for revival, according to political analysts.

Interestingly, Karnataka is the only major southern state where the BJP is very strong and with the saffron party having favourable numbers, it is set to form the government there.

The Congress now has governments in Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Puducherry. The BJP, on the other hand, is in power in 16 states in the country.

The Congress accused the BJP of carrying out “one of the most heinous” horse-trading the country has ever seen and said that it will hold nationwide protests against the “immoral political destabilisation”.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App