Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri elected as Karnataka Assembly Speaker

BJP MLA Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri has been elected as the Karnataka Legislative Assembly Speaker unopposed. He had filed his nomination for the post of the Assembly Speaker yesterday.

Kageri, who represents the Sirsi constituency was accompanied by Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa and other senior party leaders during filing of nomination. He served as the Minister for Primary and Secondary Education in the Yediyurappa government in 2008.

The six-time MLA has also in past held the charge of Karnataka’s education minister. He began his political career with the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad and was elected to the Assembly for the first time from the Ankola constituency in 1994, which he represented thrice till 2008.

After the delimitation of constituencies in Karnataka, he shifted to Sirsi and won from the seat in 2008, 2013 and 2018. Kageri has succeeded KR Ramesh Kumar, who resigned shortly after the BJP won the trust motion in the Assembly on Monday.

BJP sources say that the high command hand-picked Vishweshwar Hegde for the post. “The orders came in at around 11.30 am on Tuesday that Vishweshwar Hegde must file nomination for the post of the Speaker. He was picked as he is a veteran in the party and been an MLA six times,” the source said.

Born on July 10, 1961 in Sirsi, Vishweshwar Hegde has been elected as the legislator from the region six times. Hegde studied B.Com at Karnataka University and was an active member of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP)  during his college days and was also elected the student union leader at the time.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App