Cong-NCP to contest from 125 seats each

While the ruling BJP and Shiva Sena unable to finalise their seat sharing formula for the forthcoming Maharasahtra Assembly polls, the opposition Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar, today announced a seat-sharing pact with the Congress for the upcoming assembly elections in Maharashtra.

Pawar said that the two parties will contest from 125 seats each and leave the rest 38 for allies. The foundation of both the parties hangs in the balance as many leaders from the Congress have joined the BJP or Shiv Sena post the Lok Sabha polls. NCP will give chance to “new faces” in the polls, Pawar said. Some seats will be exchanged with the Congress, he added.

In 2014, the two parties had contested the state elections separately. NCP had then ended the 15-year alliance after the two parties had been unable to reach a seat-sharing arrangement ahead of Assembly elections.

Congress had won 42 seats while the NCP had won 41 seats in 2014 polls. The BJP had emerged as the single-largest party in the state with 122 seats.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App