Left wins Kerala’s Pala seat after 54 years

The Left in Kerala today won big in an assembly constituency when the Kerala Congress (M) founded by K M Mani has been in power for a record duration of 54 years.

The Left Democratic Front’s (LDF) Mani C Kappen, after losing thrice in the past to  Mani, returned this time and won back the Pala constituency by over 2,000 votes from his rival of the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) in the assembly by-election held on Monday.

Kappan is from Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), which is an ally of the LDF in Kerala. Kerla Congress (M)’s K M Mani retained power in Pala 13 times since 1965, which made him the longest serving legislator in Kerala. He died in April this year at 86, which necessitated the Pala assembly bypoll.

This bypoll victory comes as a confidence booster for the LDF after its poor show in the national election held in April and May, when it won only one of the 20 parliamentary seats in the southern state, where the Left has been traditionally strong.

K M Mani had also served as Kerala finance minister in the UDF government. He holds the record of presenting the maximum number of budgets in Kerala assembly at 13. He was forced to quit as finance minister from the Oommen Chandy-led government in November 2015 after the Kerala High Court’s observations against him in a bribery case, casting a shadow over his career.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App